R.I.P.

I have just come back from a vigil. Our former president, the very first president of the Czech Republic, Vaclav Havel, passed away yesterday. (BBC / NPR articles if you’re interested.)

He was an icon; it was through his efforts that the fall of communism in my country was brought about. I was a child when that happened but I will never forget the dystopian nightmare I was born into and the fact that Vaclav Havel was the one who defied the regime, who risked everything to change that.

He had a vision. He was a dreamer. He made a difference.

I met him once. I will never forget him.

Leave a Reply

