cookery · personal · photography · winter

My snowed in Saturday.

My Saturday plans have been foiled by an inconsiderate snowfall. Such heavy snowfall was a bit unexpected, especially since we actually saw some blue skies earlier this week. It was the first time I saw the sun this year. (I am, unfortunately, not exaggerating.) It was fantastic and it made me think of spring.

Unfortunately, it didn’t last.

This was Thursday.

And then things got worse. The plan for today was going to a nice, non-smoking, vegetarian restaurant to grab a pre-birthday lunch and then see The Hobbit once more. It started snowing heavily on Friday morning. When I woke up this morning, there was so much snow on my skylights that there was no natural light whatsoever in the room. Apparently we got some 15 cms of snow overnight and it hasn’t stopped snowing since. The roads have turned to ice and all they spoke about on the news was how many car accidents there have been since it started snowing. We had to cancel our plans and were forced to stay in.

There are no non-smoking restaurants in my neck of the woods at all so some cookery was required. This was today’s menu:


Shepherd’s pie with a twist. (The twist being that the potatoes weren’t mashed but were mixed in with the rest of it. 😛 It was delicious.)


Banana bread with cinnamon and cashews. Fantastic, not too sweet and it makes your kitchen smell of cinnamon for hours. Win/win.

The upside of not leaving home today:


I have almost also finished the second volume of this masterpiece. It’s ridiculously good.


I’ve made some progress with the annual Twin Peaks re-watch. Oh yeah, it’s that time of the year again. This series will never lose its magic. It is so beautifully done and I always find myself invested in the story as if it was my first time seeing it. Also, Special Agent Dale Cooper is a flawless human being.

2 thoughts on “My snowed in Saturday.

Leave a Reply

