The hospital experience.

This is not the post I thought I’d be making but such is life. If you don’t like hospital-related stuff, you’d better skip this one.

Last week I had to go to the hospital in the middle of the night because I was in too much pain. A brand new experience all over, my first time riding in an ambulance and all that. By 3.30 am I was lying in a hospital bed with an IV in my hand (more firsts) but finally I could feel the pain going away.

I spent the next few days reading and being afraid of what the hell is going on. They did a lot of tests but they were all coming back all right.

Luckily, I had some visitors every day because let me tell you, the days seem twice as long in the hospital. There’s not much to do and I would always wake up really early, which made the day seem even longer.


My mum and Lenka came every day.


On Thursday I could even step outside. I was chuffed as it was 30°C and it smelled like summer.

They released me from the hospital on Friday around the noon. I have to be careful and watch for anything that might make it flare up again (as it is my back that is causing the problem, as opposed to gallbladder or kidneys, which were originally thought to be the culprits) but I am more or less all right now.

It could have been much, much worse.

As walking and generally moving around does me good, the first thing I did last weekend was visit Lenka. I was greeted by a very happy baby.


He’s always so smiley! Adorable.


My mum with baby Tom.

I’m still trying to spin this experience into something positive — and I think I’m getting there. It’s not necessarily bad to realise that we’re not going to be around forever and thus we should make the best out of the time we have here. That’s the angle I’m going for.

2 thoughts on “The hospital experience.

  1. Káťa, I hope you are feeling better now. I read your post. It is not a very happy one. However, you are right that we must make the best out of our present lives. What I add is that hospital experience like this are very important signal of our body to slow down a bit and take more care about ourselves. I had my first experience being operated on last month so I know what I am talking about. Now, I think twice if overworking is worth it. So! Relax anytime possible and enjoy great moments with your best loved ones ;)♥

    1. I am feeling much better now, love! I do agree with you that it was (partly) a sign that I should slow down — good thing that it was something I had begun working on before this all happened.

      I’m very sorry to hear that things haven’t been good for you! I hope that you are now on the mend! Much love! xxx ♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

