Peonies.

So, peonies. I’m really crazy about them. I think they’re right up there with lilacs as my favourite flowers. We used to have them in our garden when I was a child, we had these huge, bright pink ones. They were astonishingly beautiful. I loved seeing them all over the garden and I loved bringing them back home with us. With them, unfortunately, we’d also always bring back home these huge blue rose chafer beetles. Well, they may not have been so huge but they certainly seemed so to me then, and quite frankly they still do even now. I can’t stand beetles, I have always been terrified of them and these colourful guys unfortunately love peonies as much as I do.


It has been unexpectedly difficult to buy peonies here but I finally managed — one day before I leave for Rome. I hope I’ll be able to get some more when I get back!


For me, peonies are the true heralds of summer. I’m yearning for long, hot summer days and I’m so excited about the upcoming weeks!


I’ll be away for a couple of days but, as ever, if you’d like to keep up with me, follow me on instagram. I hope you all have a wonderful weekend. And go buy some peonies if you can. 🙂

Leave a Reply

