london · personal · photography · summer · travel

The summer of 2015.

There are still 23 more days until autumn officially starts but I’ve always felt that at the end of summer holidays, summer was, for the most part, over. And I have to say that this has been one of the best summers ever, if not THE best one so far. The weather was properly summer-like all throughout July and August, I travelled a lot and I spent a lot of time with my family. I don’t get to do it much during the rest of the year so I was very happy to spend some proper quality time with them this summer.

In June, I went to Rome with my sister and our mum. It’d been such a long time since the three of us went somewhere together and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

DSC_4428

DSC_4433

I hadn’t been to Rome before and exploring an entirely new place is always incredibly exciting. I have now finally edited all my photos from the trip so hopefully I’ll get around posting them in the next couple of days.

Then in July, dad and I took my youngest sister to London. My father had been many many years before but it was my sister’s first time ever. I showed them the most famous sights in Central London and a couple more spots I thought would be a shame to miss out on (like the Tardis in Earl’s Court and Platform 9 and 3/4). They loved everything and were such troopers walking around for days on end! We spent many an evening walking around Southbank (they both loved it there) and I they fell in love with the Borough market, just as I’d thought.

DSCN1547
In August, the three of us went for our annual holiday to Turkey. A completely different kind of holiday. I read 4 books, caught up on sleep and Outlander, spent hours swimming and goofing around in the sea and pool with my little sister and I also managed to finally properly relax. It’d been a busy summer and I really needed to shake off all the tension and just let go. I tried water zumba and water gymnastics for the first time ever and I actually enjoyed it — but that was all thanks to the wonderful woman who was training us. I love that I managed to stay active for the whole 2 weeks there (aside from the aqua gymnastics/zumba I went to the gym every morning and it did wonders for my core and flexibility). I felt like I managed to strike the perfect balance between active and passive relaxation and it was just what I needed.
IMG_1696
Aside from my travels, I spent some beautiful evenings/nights with my friends (pool party!), attended and photographed a wedding, took many walks with Eda and managed to stay on top of my work/skating/gym schedule. And that’s quite amazing, if I say so myself.

Right now, I have to work on putting together my new schedule for this autumn term. It’s always a problem because people are mostly interested in lessons in the afternoon/evening but it’s impossible to satisfy everyone (though I do try!). When that’s done, I need to figure out my skating practice and gym schedule (tricky, specially regarding ice time). I am very determined to be reasonable about it though and leave some time off for my side projects and some downtime with books and tea and bed. 🙂 Also I am dog-sitting for my sister again and will be until the rest of September so I may have to cut some gym time this upcoming month in favour of my dog walks but I honestly don’t mind at all. I love spending time with Eda, it’s incredibly rewarding and it does us both good to spend at least an hour every day outside.
Thing is, the more I stress about managing to fit every single thing into my daily schedule, the bigger problems I have and the more tired I am. And every time I’m relaxed about these things, it just starts working out. So, basically, I just have to relax. 🙂

I hope that we will now slowy ease into a beautiful, sunny autumn. I will miss the beautiful, warm summer days but I’ve made so many memories this summer that I really can’t be (too) sad about the fact that this season is on its way out. Besides, there’s so much to look forward to in the next 4 months!

Happy September, everyone!

2 thoughts on “The summer of 2015.

Leave a Reply

