Cosy working space.

When I’m not teaching, I spend a lot of time sitting at my desk – lesson planning, picture editing, internetting… you know the drill. I’ve always been a very clean and organised person but these traits actually seem to multiply as we are headed into the darker seasons of the year. The number one thing I do on a gloomy day is that I make myself a cuppa. Right after that, I make sure that I’m spending my time in a cosy environment.


I cannot stand mess and a messy place is never cosy for me. A wiped-down desk and little clutter are the watchwords there. At Christmas, I tend to put up more decorations everywhere, including my desk, but generally speaking, I still like to keep it simple. Fewer things around mean fewer distractions. At the same time, however, I’d never go with just a plain, bare desk with nothing but a laptop on it. If we’re talking cosy, it has to be clean and organised but there needs to be something extra as well.

Right now, for example, I’ve got a jar with fairy lights and autumn tokens in it. (I posted pictures of it here.) I keep the fairy lights on whenever I’m around and it does great things for the cosiness factor.

I always keep this paperweight on my desk:

It belonged to my grandmother. It’s one of the most precious things I own.


It’s probably the most obvious thing ever but one candle goes a long way. I finally lit up the Vanilla Bourbon one from Yankee Candle and I love the smell. Also I cannot exist without lip balm and eye drops, so these two items are always within my reach, whenever I am.


I usually have my headphones there, too, for when I need to close myself in my own little bubble. I tend to listen to instrumental music a lot when I work.


Coffee, tea, hot chocolate… I love my hot drinks. πŸ™‚


Slipper boots. Because I get very cranky when my feet are not warm. I never fail to buy a new pair each year because they last just about one season. These are from last year from Tchibo.

What’s your working space like? Do you need it to be all clean or are you the messy type? And what do you do when the days get darker and colder in order to make the hours you spend at your your desk more pleasant? And what are your favourite autumn candles?

One thought on “Cosy working space.

Leave a Reply

