autumn · cookery · food · personal · photography

Autumn spice granola.

It was freezing outside this morning. I spent about 5 minutes standing by an open window, inhaling the frosty air. It smells so festive! It made me want to make something spicy, to give the house a seasonal smell. As luck would have it, I could spare an hour this morning so I got to it immediately and made this delicious autumn spice granola.

I wish the pictures could convey the smell — but since they can’t, you have to take my word for it: it’s absolutely heavenly, both the taste and the smell. And it’s super-easy to make, too.

This is what you’ll need:

  • rolled oats (2-3 cups)
  • dried fruits of your choice
  • nuts of your choice
  • coconut oil
  • honey
  • ground cinnamon
  • ground cloves
  • cardamom
  • vanilla extract


Put the rolled oats, dried fruits (about a handful of), nuts, cinnamon, cloves, cardamom and vanilla extract (1 tsp) in a bowl and mix everything properly.


Then add coconut oil (about 2 tbsp) and honey (1-2 tbsp) and use your hands to mix everything together.


Tip it over on a baking sheet and bake for about 15 minutes in a pre-heated oven (150/fan).


Leave it on the tray until it cools off completely — that way it will actually form chunks.
It will make your entire house smell of autumn spice and it tastes fantastic. I prefer to eat it with home-made yogurt but of course you can serve it with milk or porridge, too.

How do you guys make granola? Do you have someย delicious recipes I should try?

10 thoughts on “Autumn spice granola.

  1. Firstly, the photographs are sensational. All the colours, complimenting each other. Your hair is looking gorgeous. I can smell the food, it is yummy scrumptious.

    1. Thank you so much! It is often a challenge to take photos without a tripod so I’m glad when they turn out all right. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. What a beautiful post, thanks for sharing! I love anything autumn spice and I also love granola. I make mine with coconut oil, dates and some walnuts but I really should try mixing it up a bit. Your post has given me the perfect excuse to try something different ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thank you very much for commenting! Mmm, dates and walnut sound amazing! Let me know if you come up with something brand new and exciting, I love trying new stuff. If I recall correctly, Nigella Lawson puts peanut butter into her granola so that’s next up on my list because, uh, peanut butter! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. That looks super delicious and it makes me want to try making some. Also, your photographs are wonderful – very seasonal – and your hair looks fabulous. I also love your sweater!

Leave a Reply

