Weekly gratitude post #6.

This week has been a whirlwind — but in a good way! As I’d mentioned, I finished my working week a bit sooner than usual, on Thursday at noon to be precise and I went to Prague to meet up with an old friend of mine who managed to get a hold of two tickets for a live broadcast of Hamlet. It was the first National Theatre Live production I’ve ever seen and I was blown away. How amazing it is that the audiences all over the world actually get an opportunity to watch theatre plays that they otherwise could never see?
It was such a special experience. It was almost cinematic in parts, grandiose really, but not enough to make you think you’re watching a film and not a theatre play. And can I just say, I loved Benedict Cumberbatch’s Hamlet. His entire performance was on point. For some reason, he made me feel warmer towards Hamlet than all the other Hamles I’d seen before him. I’m not at all saying that he is the best Hamlet ever – simply because I don’t think there’s such thing. I think every Hamlet is unique in his own way. I’m just saying that he brings something new and fresh to the role and it’s well worth checking out. And I can’t forget Sian Brooke’s Ophelia, who was exquisitely bonkers. I loved it.

I stayed in Prague until Saturday morning (I would have stayed longer but I had a birthday party to attend on Saturday afternoon so I had to go back home early) and had a lot of fun. I met another friend for lunch on Friday, I did some minor shopping and I went out with my sister and her boyfriend for dinner on Friday night. That reminds me, if you’re ever in Prague and like French cuisine, try Bistro à Table. It’s a beautiful place with the most delicious food ever and the owners are incredibly nice people. Also, if the dog murals seem familiar to you, you are not imagining things: it IS actually our Eda.


The black ear is a dead giveaway. Murals by Antimultivitamin, of course. 🙂
This week I’m grateful for:

1. Loyal friends.
2. Discovering the power of positive thinking.
3. New opportunities that arise when you least expect them to. More on that later. 😉
4. Being able to travel. I have just booked my first trip for 2016 and I couldn’t be more excited. I know how lucky I am to be able to do that and I am eternally grateful.

What have you been grateful for?

One thought on “Weekly gratitude post #6.

  1. It sounds like you’ve had quite a whirlwind weekend, but what a lot of fun! I’d love to go to Prague – it always sounds so wonderful. Enjoyed reading your thoughts on Hamlet too – I was sorry to miss seeing it, and I’ve heard some mixed reviews so was curious. Glad you enjoyed it so much. I can imagine BC was very good. xxx

Leave a Reply

