I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.

This autumn has been really strange so far. It’s been quite windy so the trees are half-bare now but many of them still only have hints of yellows and reds. But it’s not completely hopeless. πŸ™‚

I can understand why many people don’t like autumn. Summer’s over, the days grow shorter and colder and it makes you feel like no matter how early you get back home from work, it seems like it is too dark to do anything but sleep. I don’t usually feel this way but I can imagine how easy it is to get sucked into this way of thinking. I hear it quite a lot from my students these days — and it’s going to get even worse with the end of the DST next week. The trick is to always try to find something you look forward to. Big things, little things, all of it counts. And get yourself properly excited about them. That helps, too. If it’s easy, then great for you. If it’s not, the good news is that it’s something you can learn.

Here are some things I love about autumn:

1. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate. Whether you drink these in the summer or not, they get even more special in autumn and winter. They warm you up, from head to toe, they make the house smell amazing and drinking them often means that you get to sit down and have a couple of minutes to yourself. And then there’s of course cider, mulled wine and eggnog to look forward to in a couple of weeks. What’s not to like?

2. Candles. I don’t know about you but I’m not very much into them during the summer. Even though there are some really beautiful summery scents out there, I just feel no need for candles in the summer. I enjoy the way the air smells in the summer and I prefer to have my windows open — which is not really all that possible in autumn and winter. It’s no secret that I love Yankee Candle. For the transition period between summer and autumn, I love Black Cherry and Lavender. My favourite autumn scents are Tarte Tatin, Vanilla Chai, Vanilla Bourbon & Salted Caramel. I’d love to try Apple Spice and Hazelnut Coffee, too. Maybe next year. Incidentally, what are your favourite autumn scents?

3. Knitwear. Warm layers of clothes that always look good? Yes, please! Also: blankets. And warm socks. Snuggle up you lot!

4. Pumpkins. They are everywhere and they are so good! You can eat them, drink them, decorate them or carve them.

5. The colours. Everything is (or should be) yellow, orange and red (if you’re lucky) and it’s a sight to behold. There’s so much beauty in the changing of the seasons and it’d be a shame to miss out on it.

6. Halloween and Christmas. It’s high time to start getting excited! It’s a great opportunity to decorate your house and have some fun. Halloween is in 9 days and then it’s time for fairy lights and sparkling decorations. It’s the most wonderful time of the year and the run up is the best thing about it.

On to the photos! I went for a walk yesterday to check on the progress autumn has made since the last post. I’d been hoping for sun and mist, I got drizzle and eventually some drizzly fog. So no bright leaves or mysterious objects lurking somewhere in the mist this time around. Hopefully they’re not all that bad, though!


This looks very autumny. I approve!


I loved the hints of red on this tree.


Check out my hipster autumn boots. πŸ˜›


This is the entrance our local lido. I haven’t been there for ages but I love that they kept the changing rooms and some other stuff instead of modernising it. It has a distinct retro charm and I used to love it there when I was a child.


In autumn, even fog and drizzle can be quite charming.


I really like how this one turned out.


A trapped leaf.

What’s on your list of things that make you enjoy autumn?

P.S.: The quote in the title of this post is from Anne of Green Gables, one of my all-time favourite books. If you’re not familiar with it, I strongly suggest you check it out ASAP. It’s a perfect autumn read!

Leave a Reply

