christmas · home · personal · photography · winter

Hello, November!


This is what I woke up to this morning. Beautiful, isn’t it? This was only the second frosty morning of this year, I’m so glad I was up early enough to take a picture.

It’s no secret that I start getting ready for Christmas early. There are many reasons for that. The most important one is that I love this time of the year, I think it’s utter magic and I want to enjoy it and I hope to never outgrow it. The other reason why I start so early is because I’m very busy and I have to plan ahead a lot. Also, I don’t know about you, but this it what happens to me every single year in November/December: I make a proper plan of action, I even factor in evenings for sitting around and watching Christmas films and drinking hot chocolate. And then suddenly so many extra things pop up, especially at work, and in the end I always do manage but it’s never as relaxed and peaceful as I would’ve liked it to be. Starting with Christmas preparations early is the only way I can keep sane and not stress about Christmas. Because I don’t want to stress about it, I want to enjoy it thoroughly.

I’m currently about halfway done with my Christmas shopping, which is not bad at all. And I’m going to start taking down the Halloween decorations and putting up Christmas ones very soon. Again, I want to enjoy all the sparkling lights and the festive atmosphere. It makes me feel so very happy!

Here’s a small preview of the things that I’ve got now for this Christmas.


I’ve been loving H&M Home lately. They’ve got so many nice and inexpensive things, I just keep coming back!


When it comes to decorations this year, I’m going for silver, gold and champagne. Simple, sparkly, beautiful. The pillowcase definitely fits the bill.


This acorn box is even lovelier than I thought it would be.


Yes, I still send postcards. I love the tradition!


I couldn’t resist buying this gift bag. Christmas + London, my favourite combination of all.


And also some beautiful wrapping paper.


I love the design of these crackers. So decent yet utterly festive. A must-have!

Have you started with your Christmas preparations yet? Are you planning anything special this year? I want to hear all about it!

6 thoughts on “Hello, November!

  1. Kate, these are wonderful. You’ve inspired me to get moving. I love Christmas…mostly because of the memories and because of the lights and smells and wonderful festive foods. My dining room lends itself to Christmas just perfectly as it is old, dark and ever such a little bit spooky. I’m going to get moving with my plans now. Christmas for me is a very simple affair though as both of our parents have gone to the other side and there’s now just the three of us here. I normally go running on Christmas morning and I don’t like opening presents until Boxing Day, if at all. x

    1. Every single time someone tells me I inspired them to do something, I just MELT inside. That’s the best compliment ever, really. Thank you. :-*
      Here’s to Christmas! 🙂

  2. I’m sitting at the table, scoffing my chicken and rice and smiling the biggest of smiles. You’ll be pleased to know that I spent a good hour last night, looking at new lights for the tree. You absolutely do inspire me and your energy is infectious. Keep on being amazing. You have a beautiful soul.

  3. You are very very welcome. Guess what? I found some decorations and dusted them off. I have made lists and shall share them with you very soon. I have started to wash glasses and china and am sketching ideas for decorations. I’m so terribly excited that it is untrue. xx

  4. I love that photo of the frost; it’s beautiful, simple and elegant.
    Your theme is incredible, too, the colors are great together and so elegant and sophisticated.

    I haven’t begun any preparations yet, but I’ve never been one to begin before Thanksgiving. :\ And this year, well, I am really not feeling “it” when it comes to holidays; I don’t even know what it is…

Leave a Reply

