christmas · cookery · food · home · personal · photography

Speculoos biscuits.


Christmas apron on! It’s baking time!


I made these biscuits back in November because I’d never tried to make them before and I wanted to know if I can make them for Christmas. I can – and I will. They are delicious, much better than the ones from Lidl, they’re much too sweet for me. I made mine less sweet and more spicy, just the way I like them.

Ingredients

For the dough:
290 g whole wheat flour
50 g almonds, ground
135 g butter
180 g cane sugar
1 tbsp cocoa
1/2 tsp salt
2 tblsp milk (you may have to add more depending on the texture of the dough)
3 tsp speculoos spice mix

For the spice mix
12 g cinnamon
4 g cloves, ground
2 g white pepper
4 g nutmeg
4 g anise
2 g cardamom
2 g ginger, ground
4 g allspice

If you plan on doing them more often (and there’s a strong possibility that will be the case), it’s a good idea to double or triple the amount of spices so you don’t have to make the mix again every time you want to bake them. That’s what I did anyway. 🙂

Instructions

Whisk sugar, butter and milk together until smooth and fluffy. Add flour, almonds, salt, cocoa and the spices. Mix together until the dough is soft. If needed, add more milk. Put the dough in the fridge and leave it there for a day or two. Then roll out the dough until it’s about 4 or 5 mm thick and cut out your biscuits. In the original recipe they used a pin like this one from Antrhopologie but I haven’t got one so I used a regular rolling pin and Christmas biscuit cutters.
Bake your biscuits at 175 °C for about 8 minutes.


Here’s the dough.


Snowflake biscuit cutter.

Have you ever tried these biscuits? What’s your favourite Christmas sweets recipe? Do share!

One thought on “Speculoos biscuits.

Leave a Reply

