christmas · london · personal · photography · travel · winter

Skating at Somerset House and a Fortnum’s haul.


I think it’s safe to say that going ice skating in London has become one of our December staples. Last year we tried the ice rink at the Natural History Museum — and loved it. This year we gave the Somerset House ice rink a go.


We were there bright and early on a Monday morning. The place was almost empty, which was rather fantastic.


And we had all the time in the world to take photos there.


When it was time to skate, the place filled up a bit. Just how gorgeous is that rink?


Overall, my only issue with skating there are the skates. πŸ˜› I’d never ever skated in hockey skates before so it was an all new experience for me. Can’t say I like it much. πŸ˜›


I managed of course but it just felt weird. I kept thinking about my figure skates back home… but of course it makes no sense to bring along my own skates just for a 50-minute skate.


It was my mum’s first time in hockey skates, too!


After the amazing skate, we went to the Fortnum’s Lodge to warm up with some hot mulled cider. That place is gorgeous!


My mum was all smiles.


It was possibly the best cider I’ve ever tasted. For real. And they serve it in those gorgeous copper mugs, too… I kind of want one now!


And there are complementary clementines and walnuts. What’s not to love? I really hope to be hungry the next time I go there because the menu looked scrumptious.


Afterwards, we went to take a look around the Christmas Arcade. It was just as stunning as last year.

Here’s what we eventually ended up getting:

Some seriously wonderful teas and a mulled wine jelly with edible gold leaf.


We bought loads of Christmas ornaments, too.


I could hardly resist these, now, could I?


I love how these leaves look on the Christmas tree.


Probably the most beautiful Christmas crackers I’ve ever seen.


And an advent calendar for next year. ❀

2 thoughts on “Skating at Somerset House and a Fortnum’s haul.

Leave a Reply

