Asparagus pancakes and the best brownies you’ve ever had.

Yesterday I did something I hadn’t done or a long time: I didn’t set an alarm clock. I woke up at about 9 am because the birds were singing loudly, the sun was shining and it was shaping up to be the most beautiful day. It was truly perfect. And to make it even more so, I’ve decided to try and make a recipe from the BBC Good Food calendar. As you are probably aware, the asparagus season is now well under way and I’ve had asparagus every week at least once for the last month or so. Yesterday, I made asparagus pancakes with smoked salmon and sour cream — and it was food heaven. And before I finished it, it was actually warm enough to eat it outside on the balcony. I can hardly imagine a more perfect morning.
DSC_0754

DSC_0757

Ingredients:

200 g rye flour (the original recipe had 100 g buckwheat & 100 g plain flour)
1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
284 ml pot buttermilk
1 egg, beaten
50 g butter, meted
2 tsp rapeseed or vegetable oil
18 asparagus spears, halved to make 36 shorter spears
140 g smoked salmon
150 ml soured cream
a few lemon wedges

Pre-heat your oven to 120C/fan. Mix the flour, bicarbonate of soda and 1/2 tsp salt together in a bowl. Whisk the buttermilk, egg and 3 tbsp melted butter together in another bowl, then gradually whisk into the dry ingredients to make a smooth batter.

Heat a non-stick frying pan over a medium heat. Add the remaining butter and the oil and fry your asparagus for about 3-4 minutes until almost tender.

Now, the original recipe says that you should put in the asparagus first and pour the batter over it. I tried that at first but it didn’t work so well so I switched it around, poured in the batter first and put the asparagus on top of it. It was also easier to flip the pancakes afterwards. I cooked them for about 3 minutes on one side and about 2 on the other. Keep your pancakes warm in the oven while you cook the rest of them.

Then just add the smoked salmon, sour cream and some lemon wedges for squeezing over and you’re done.

DSC_0766

DSC_0771
The sun was a bit too bright but I’m not going to complain.

DSC_0779
I had some leftover batter so I whipped up a couple more pancakes to have with my coffee afterwards. I put some white yoghurt on it, a dash of strawberry jam and blueberries.

Speaking of puddings: two weeks ago we found a recipe for brownies with raspberries and sea salt. The combination of sweet and salty is my favourite so we immediately decided to try it — and it was incredible. I’ve never had such good brownies in my life and you should definitely try it.

DSC_0670

DSC_0691
Pure bliss.

The recipe is from Kitchenette – it’s in Czech but I ran it through the google translator just to check if it doesn’t spit out some complete and utter nonsense (as it often does) and it’s fine! I used walnuts because I didn’t have pecan nuts and I used gluten free flour.

DSC_0658
I wish the lilac season lasted longer. 😉

IMG_1343
So this is where I leave you for today. But before that I’d like to ask: have you cooked or baked anything interesting lately? I’m always looking for new recipes and fresh ideas!

One thought on “Asparagus pancakes and the best brownies you’ve ever had.

Leave a Reply

