food · personal · photography · summer

My Midsummer!

This year I actually celebrated Midsummer a week early – and I’m very glad I did because I was in no mood to celebrate anything after the Brexit fiasco last Friday.

Also, there was a festival of rose wine in my town on the 18th so it all worked out rather nicely.

DSC_1252
It was a very warm day and the air smelled like summer.

DSC_1257
We had to queue quite a bit but it was all worth it in the end.

DSC_1272

DSC_1275
The food stalls were very popular.

DSC_1281
And you could pop a strawberry into your wine if you fancied it!

DSC_1285

DSC_1295
My mum was pretty happy with her choice of wine.

IMG_2528
And so was I, to be honest.

DSC_1310
They also had some delicious looking pink cake which I skipped because we’d made a wonderful strawberry cake that morning and it was all I could think about. 😛

DSC_1311
It was far too hot to only drink wine so after about an hour we made for the food stalls.

DSC_1317
And of course we immediately ordered mussels.

DSC_1320
They were incredible.

DSC_1334
Then we got us some more wine and sat in the grass.

DSC_1349

DSC_1351
The view was not at all bad, either.

DSC_1352

DSC_1355

DSC_1371
It was a perfect summer day.

DSC_1373

IMG_2530
And then we were hungry again. This time we went for the prawns.

DSC_1383

DSC_1390

DSC_1405
On our way back home we went through the Jewish quarter. It’s full of amazing streets like this. I love this part of the town.

DSC_1407

How did you spend Midsummer?

One thought on “My Midsummer!

Leave a Reply

