Rome, day one.

I had never been to Rome before my last year’s trip. I’d been to Italy once but never to Rome. And then my sister and her boyfriend gave me a plane ticket there for my 30th birthday last year. It doesn’t get much better than that.

I loved Rome and I loved that I could go with my sister and our mum. We hadn’t been on holiday together for ages so it really couldn’t have been more perfect.

I went a little snap happy there of course because Rome is just incredibly photogenic. We had a great weather throughout the whole trip – warm and sunny but not too warm to go sightseeing and it was just a terrific start of the summer. This is what we explored on day one.


The hotel we stayed in was a part of a townhouse and it was a stunning place. These were the postboxes, for example.


Look at those knobs!


All the houses in our street looked like this. Gorgeous! I want one. πŸ™‚


My sister was taking photos, too.


This is how every day started for us. The croissants were heavenly and so was the coffee.


The area we stayed in was gorgeous.


It was also incredibly convinient as we stayed only about about 5 minutes walking distance from the Castel Sant’Angelo, which was our first stop of the day.


There was a tiny market by the river.


The castle is huge and imposing. Especially with all the angels.


Michael is not exactly a friendly-looking bloke.


Neither are these guys, for that matter. πŸ˜›


Which one of us is paler?


What a view!


Rome is a frightening place for a Doctor Who fan. πŸ˜›


There’s also a beautiful little cafe there. We didn’t go in because we went there right after breakfast but it looked charming.


The view from up there is, of course, stunning.


Basilica di San Pietro.


It’s a great place for taking photos.


So I come near the Vatican and a huge thunderstorm starts brewing. Coincidence? I think not. πŸ˜€


For some reason, they’ve also got a statue of Voldemort there. :O I mean, look at him!


I love my sister’s skirt.


I have a thing for doors.


This was our favourite gelateria. One night we went there instead of dinner. True story.


Best gelato ever. I still dream about it sometimes.


I loved these narrow streets!


This sign was on the door of a bookshop near Piazza Navona. πŸ™‚


Just look at those houses!


This is Piazza Navona.


Those fountains are just amazing.

Largo di Torre Argentina: an old square with the ruins of four temples and and a Pompey’s theatre.


Next time I’m in Italy, the canoli is the only thing I’m going to have for dessert. And I’m going to have it every day. As should you.

From there we continued to Trastevere, which I will cover in my next post.

One thought on “Rome, day one.

Leave a Reply

