Winter wonderland!

We’ve had temperatures below zero for over a week, it’s been snowing on and off and it looks like it’s not going to be over any time soon. That certainly is helping with the Christmas blues this year! I try to take Eda for a walk in the snow every day, as long as it’s not too cold. It was -13°C all day on Monday and I really didn’t dare take her out for longer than 5 minutes.

I have been thinking about why the Christmas blues tends to hit me so hard. For me, Christmas is quite literally the most wonderful time of the year. I love pending time with my family, slowing down and feeling the magic and peace of the season in my very soul. Christmas was the ultimate hygge for me before I even knew what hygge was.
It has been getting easier for me to overcome the Christmas blues in the past few years. Mostly because there’s just so much to look forward to and because I honestly try to find joy in every season and every weather. One of my goals this year is to incorporate hygge into my everyday life and I think that January is the pefect months to start with that. I’ll definitely keep you updated on how it’s going!

Today I’d like to share with you some snaps from my New Year’s Day walk. It was a snowy, frosty day and for the first time in years I actually saw children oce skating on a pond. It’s been ages since it’s been cold enough in the winter for people to do it. It warmed my heart; I loved skating on the pond with my sister when we were children. We always had so much fun in the winter and it’s so nice to see seeing kids today doing the same stuff we did.

I hope you’re enjoying January the best way you know how!

DSC_6698
It’s so nice to see people skating on a pond.

DSC_6699

DSC_6700

DSC_6706

DSC_6713
That’s our Jewish cemetery, one of the most beautiful places in this town.

DSC_6715

DSC_6717

DSC_6725

DSC_6749

IMG_9891.jpeg

IMG_9980.jpeg

IMG_9914.jpeg
Awkward photo alert. This is what it looks like when I try to pick up my dog (who doesn’t like to be picked up) and prevent her getting hit by a camera that’s hanging from my shoulder.

IMG_0275

IMG_9974
I love her and her silly face.

IMG_9973

DSC_6753

DSC_6767

DSC_6773

DSC_6778

DSC_6803

DSC_6836

DSC_6856

DSC_6858

DSC_6862

DSC_6865

DSC_6866

DSC_6880

DSC_6904

DSC_6910

DSC_6923

Leave a Reply

