figure skating · food · personal · photography · travel · winter

Memories of Ostrava.

The end of January was super special because this year, the European Figure Skating Championships was in Ostrava and I was able to go. A part of me wants to comment on my favourite skaters but I’m afraid I’d never get this posted if I got into it. So I’ll just say this: even if you are only a casual figure skating fan, if you ever have a chance to attend such event, make sure you go! It’s absolutely incredible and incomparable to just watching it on the telly. You get to experience all the emotions first hand and I promise you won’t be bored for a second.
So let’s move on to the pictures, shall we?
IMG_0736.jpeg
I didn’t really bother with photos inside the arena – we weren’t allowed DSLRs so I only had my mobile. I did take some videos of some of the warm-ups, though.

IMG_1114
This is pretty much what the weather looked like except for our last day when it was sunny. The smog was really bad all the time, though.

IMG_1308
Here’s the sunrise from our last (full) day there, which was Saturday.

IMG_1257
And a couple of photo of the sunset from the same day.

IMG_1259

IMG_1352

IMG_1385
One of my favourite breakfasts when we were there was this one from UGO. Can’t beat a baked avocado & egg!

IMG_1261
Costa saved the day with their coffee and snacks.

IMG_1395

IMG_1396
And cakes. 😀

IMG_1350
Their 2017 Christmas cups were the cutest.

IMG_1117
Compulsory photo-op.

IMG_1142
We actually took quite a lot of photos this time around, which was nice as we sometimes tend to neglect it.

IMG_1441
These were taken during one of the breaks, that’s why the arena seems so empty. It really wasn’t, though!

IMG_1167

IMG_1157

IMG_1347
At one point, Nicole Della Monica and Mateo Guarise were sat in front of us so I sneaked a pic.

IMG_1373
Dinner was usually some sort of a salad, vegetable juice and some chocolate, because we were on a holiday after all. And also more figure skating because we just had to re-watch some of our favourite performances of the day.

IMG_1298

IMG_1311
Saturday was the only day it was bright and clear (and very cold). The programme didn’t start until early in the afternoon so we decided to go and see at least a little bit of Ostrava.

IMG_1405
Stodolní. Look it up. 😉

IMG_1407
The old town is gorgeous, and the winter sunlight definitely helped, too!

IMG_1408

IMG_1410

IMG_1412
There was an ice rink in the square for the duration of the Championships. I’d really wanted to go but it was way too cold and windy, unfortunately.

IMG_1421
They still had a Christmas tree in the square at the end of January. Thumbs up!

IMG_1507
On the way home we experienced this charming weather.

IMG_1525
And I got myself a new pair of soakers as a souvenir. 🙂

Leave a Reply

