Midsummer.

Last Wednesday was the first day of summer. My first student of the day cancelled her lesson so I suddenly had some 90 odd minutes off in the morning. I never have time off in the morning, so I was understandably excited about it. And since it was supposed to be another hot and sunny day, I decided not to fully sleep through that extra time in the morning and have a proper, relaxed breakfast on the balcony. I had my peonies (which I’d finally managed to get the weekend before in another town because local flower shops have been ignoring the peony season completely), I had my breakfast and a cup of coffee. It made me feel so relaxed and so excited for the upcoming summer.

DSC_9263

DSC_9273

DSC_9272

DSC_9275

DSC_9233

DSC_9235

DSC_9227

DSC_9225

My favourite coffee shop has opened their summer garden and I can’t get enough. I try to stop by at least twice a week just so I could sit outside with a delicious drink of cup of coffee. (I can’t really use my balcony for that because it only gets shade in the early morning and then in the evening.)
DSC_9152

DSC_9153

DSC_9155

DSC_9156

DSC_9159

DSC_9163
They have the best coffee and make excellent mimosas. Win/win!

DSC_9173
And I take my mum along now and then, too. 🙂

I still haven’t had any local strawberries this year (apparently the horrid weather in May destroyed them all) but luckily I’ve been able to get some strawberries from Poland. I eat them every day now because their season will be over before we know it. I usually eat them with yogurt and a handful of my home-made granola. Best dessert ever.

DSC_9211

DSC_9214

DSC_9183
And I also had to make these strawberry pancakes.

I’ve also been making Buddha bowls a lot lately. I can’t get enough all these fresh veggies. I always try to up the protein so I usually add some eggs, salmon, lentils of tofu.
DSC_9196
This one is carrot, cucumber, orange, turkey, goat cheese.

DSC_9255
Bell pepper, cucumber, carrot, iceberg salad, gherkin, black lentils, egg.

IMG_8166
Bed of rocket, kohlrabi, carrot, cucumber, black lentils, tofu, egg.

Other things I’ve been lately include:
IMG_8136
Tofu, cheese and vegetable tacos.

IMG_8399
Lemon minestrone soup.

DSC_9336
Grilled cheese, aubergine, potato and zuccchini.

DSC_9341

DSC_9322
Spinach, chorizo and parmesan pasta.

IMG_8535
Last Saturday was the last theatre play of the season. I loved my mum’s outfit!

IMG_8537
I wore my new Promod dress.

DSC_9258

DSC_9279
Our Harkness rose has been making me very happy lately. It smells heavenly.

DSC_9130
I wish poppies kept longer than 24 hours in a vase.

DSC_9319

DSC_9310
How pretty is this lavender soda? There are recipes for summery sodas in every issue of every food magazine I read and I intend to try all of them. This one is my favourite so far.

I’ve also been thinking about my summer goals and this is what I came up with:

– go to a place I’ve never been to before (if everything goes well, it should be happening very soon)
– if possible, have Eda around for a couple of weeks and spend as much time outside with her as possible
– have breakfast on the balcony as often as possible
– slow down, in every aspect, and relax
– most importantly, I want us all to be healthy and happy

What are your goals for this summer?

2 thoughts on “Midsummer.

  1. Most of my summer goals are revolving around moving (and getting rid of a ton of our stuff). I’ve been getting way more focused on time with friends and loved ones as opposed to things. Good luck accomplishing yours!

    1. Spending more time with friends and loved ones is always a good goal. ❤ Good luck with the moving, I hope it goes smoothly and that you have a lovely summer. Thanks so much for commenting!

Leave a Reply

